Instagram Now Notifies People When You Screenshot Their Pictures
This new development has been met by a lot of fear, stress, and uncertainty from users.
For those still on the know: Instagram users can now see when their followers screenshot their disappearing photos.
I repeat: they can now see when you screenshot their disappearing photos.
Earlier this week, The social media picture app announced that it was going all Facebook on us by allowing users to live stream from the app, and that it was going all Snapchat on us by allowing users to send private disappearing photos. To be fair, they’re all just merging into one now.
But what has also been discovered is that, along with these new features comes a screenshot notification function, just like Snapchat’s. So now, when somebody sends you a private disappearing photo and you screenshot it to show all your friends, the sender will now very much be able to see you’ve taken a screenshot of their picture.
READ: MAHEEDA BEARS BOOBS ON INSTAGRAM
Thankfully, this feature only applies to the private disappearing photos function, and doesn’t appear to send notifications when users screenshot Instagram stories or normal Instagram pictures.
— Travis (@travlim) November 24, 2016
As you can imagine, this new development has been met by a lot of fear, stress, and uncertainty from users who’d believed their screenshotting habits would remain private.
"now instagram sends you a notification when someone screenshots your photos." pic.twitter.com/mZZV2VznNC
— amberlicious. (@DAMNBlEBERS) November 26, 2016